Awesome Milk Typography Effect in Photoshop
Awesome Milk Typography Effect in Photoshop
STEP 1
Open Adobe Illustrator and go to View>Show Grid. Then select the Rectangle Tool (M) and create 2 squares and 2 rectangels like the image below.
STEP 2
To create the M select the Pen Tool (P) and add 2 points 2 blocks away from the center.
STEP 3
Add 2 more points and the move then nudge them up 2 blocks.
STEP 4
Now add another point in the very middle of the line and then nudge that point down 1 block. Use the image below for reference.
STEP 5
To finish the M, again with the Pen Tool (P) add 3 new points but move only the middle one down.
STEP 6
For the other letters it's pretty much the same, use the Pen Tool (P) and use the same technique we used for the M. Use the image below for reference.
STEP 7
Open Photoshop and create a new document, I used 1920x1200 pixels for the size. Then copy the letters from Illustrator and paste them in Photoshop. Each font has to be in one layer. The Background will be black white the word will be white.
STEP 8
To create the milk splashes I used some stock photos. You can download the first image at http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-27264406-splash-in-a-milk-glass.html.
STEP 9
Copy the image and paste in the document. Go to Edit>Transform>Scale and resize it so it fits the width of the M. With the Eraser Tool (E) delete some areas at the bottom of the photos. Also with the Stamp Tool (S) paint the parts where you can see the glass, the idea is to hide the glass and leave just the milk parts.
STEP 10
With the Eraser Tool (E) erase the part of character M on the top right corner where the effect wasn't looking really nice with the milk spalsh.
STEP 11
For each character we will use a different photo, that way the effect will look more convincing. You can use only one and just tweak it with the warp tool as well. The photo I used for the "I" can be downloaded at http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-12058783-splash-in-a-milk-glass.html
STEP 12
Paste the image in the photoshop document then with the Magic Wand Tool (W) select the black area of the image and delete it. Go to Edit>Transform>Rotate. Also resize it so it fit with the width of the "I"
STEP 13
With the Rectangular Marquee Tool (M) delete the bottom part of the image where you could see the glass, then select an area that is uniform and go to Edit>Transfor>Scale. Make the area much higher like the image below and then with the Eraser Tool (E) use a very soft brush and delete the bottom of the milk splahs until you have a very smooth transition. You can move down the whole splash a little bit as well.
STEP 14
Try to look for different images for each characters, for the L I used another photo from Shutterstock, you can download it at http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-10532656-milk-splash-against-dark-background.html. Then repeat the same thing we did for the other letters to match the image with the text.
STEP 15
For the K I used another image that you can find at http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-15459070-milk-splash-on-a-blue-background.html.
The first thing to do is convert it to greyscale. Go to Image>Adjustment>Desaturate. After that go to Image>Adjustment>Levels. Increase the Black Input until you have almost a black background, then with the Magic Wand Tool (W) select and delete the background of the splash image. Go to Edit>Transform>Scale and move it and resized it to match the width of the K, then with the Eraser Tool (E) delete some areas of the splash like the image below. Tip: use the [ and ] to increase or reduce the Eraser size, it's very important to delete the right areas to make the effect more realistic. Try to follow the flow of the milk.
STEP 16
Select the K and with the Eraser Tool (E) delete the top right corner of the letter.
STEP 17
As we used different images and some of them had some color variations, such as the images over the M and L. So to make them look more uniform go to Layer>New Adjustment Layer>Gradient Map. Select the Reverse option and that will be enough to make the splashes look the same.
STEP 18
To create the Depth of Field effect, just copy a part of one of those images that have quite a few drops and paste in the document, in my case I used the top right corner of the image used in the step 15. Copy and paste it in the document and again, go to Image>Adjustments>Desaturate, and Image>Adjustments>Levels increasing the Black Input to make the background turn to black. After that go to Edit>Transform>Scale and make it much bigger and go to Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur. Use 15 for the amount.
CONCLUSION
Click on Control/Command + Alt + Shift + E to create a new layer with all the layers merged. Then go again to Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur. Use 10 pixels for the amount. After that change the Blend Mode to Screen and the Opacity to 50%.
Also place your logo and the effect is practicaly done. You can add more splashes or try different colors. The idea is basicaly to learn how to mix the milk splashes with the vector text and make them look real. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial and let me know if you have suggestions for this or other tutorials.
Tuesday, 21 January 2014
Super Cool Frilly Bits Typography
Super Cool Frilly Bits Typography
Step 1
Step 2
Open Photoshop and create a new document. I used 1680x1050 pixels. After that, type abduzeedo and go to Layer>Layer Style>Gradient Overlay. Use Red, Yellow, Green, and Light Blue for the colors. I used Futura for the typefaceStep 3
Let's start mixing the vectors with the type. First you will have to find the right "ornament" for the letter you want. Then you will have to place it in a way that it follows the shape of that letter. In the image below you can see that the "ornament" seems to be coming from the "a".Step 3
After you align the ornament with the letter, it's time to add some depth. To do that let's use the Layer Styles. Go to Layer>Layer Styles>Drop Shadow. Use Multiply for the Blend Mode, Black for the color, 100% Opacity, -60% Angle, Distance of 5 pixels and Size of 5 pixels as well.Step 4
Here let's create a layer from the shadow of the layer style. To do that click with the right button of the mouse on the layer with the drop shadow. Then select Create Layer from the menu. That's it, you'll now have a layer with the shadow.Step 5
Now that you have the shadow in a layer let's apply a mask. Go to Layer>Layer Mask>Reveal All. Then select the Brush Tool(B). The color will be black and the brush will be regular with a diameter of 45 pixels and 0% hardness. Then just paint the mask to hide some parts of the shadow. The idea is to create the impression that the ornament is coming from, and passing above the letter.Step 6
Repeat the same thing for the other letters. However it's not necessary to do that for all of them. I only did it on the A, B, D, Z, E, D, and O. After that select the ornament and word layers, group them together and rename the group to "logo". Tip: Always use the color of the exact part of the letter that the ornamet will come from.Step 7
Here let's add some texture to the image. You can hide the other layers. We'll use some textures from a blog called DesignReviver, they published an article called 300+ Vintage Style Textures and Photoshop Brushes.Download the Vintage II pack and place "Vintage10.jpg" image to the document. Because the image is 1500 pixels and the document is 1680 pixels, you'll have to duplicate the image and fill the remaining part of the document with it. After that go to Image>Adjustments>Hue/Saturation. Use Hue 49, Saturation 19, Lightness +35.
Step 8
Download the "15_textures__art___vintage_by_jocosity" pack and place the "textur2.jpg" in the document. Then change the Blend Mode to Overlay and go to Image>Adjustments>Hue/Saturation. Use Hue +2, Saturation -41, Lightness -75.Step 9
Download the "Old_Paper_Textures_by_lailomeiel" pack and place the "DSC02679.JPG" in the document. It will go over the other textures, then just change the Blend Mode to Color burn. Now, select all texture layers and group them. Rename the group Textures.Step 10
Select the "logo" group and go to Layer>Merge Group. This will convert the layer and all groups inside it to a single layer. Then go to Layer>Layer Style>Drop Shadow. Use Color Burn for the Blend Mode, 100% Opacity, -60ยบ for the Angle, Distance and Size of 5px.Step 11
Duplicate the "texture" group and change the blend mode of the "paper" layer to Overlay. Merge the group in order to create a unique layer from it. Change the order of the layers and put the new texture layer on top of the logo layer. Then go to Layer>Create Clipping Mask and change the Blend Mode to Multiply. Duplicate the texture layer again making sure that it is still with the clipping mask. Then just change the Blend Mode to Overlay.Step 12
Group the "Logo" layer with the two texture clipping mask layers. Duplicate the group and merge it to a single layer. Then go to Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur. Use 4.5 pixels for the Radius and change the Blend Mode to Screen and 80% Opacity.Conclusion
In this tutorial we learnt how to mix some vector ornaments with a word to produce a nice typography. We also played around with vintage textures and cliping masks that gave our image a not so "clean" look. You can create many variations of this effect. Below I added a Radial Gradient so the textures only appear where the logo is. Again it's all about experimentation.Thursday, 16 January 2014
Create a Vector Inspired Portrait in Photosh
Create a Vector Inspired Portrait in Photoshop
Final Image
Tutorial Details
- Program: Adobe Photoshop CS5 (CS3+ versions will work as well)
- Estimated Completion Time: 90 minutes
- Difficulty: Intermediate
Resources
Step 1
Before we can begin turning our photo into a vector style portrait we must first open it up in Photoshop. You can use whatever image you prefer but for this tutorial I will be using the image in the link above.Step 2
Create a new layer to begin working on the skin. Use the color picker to pick the desired skin tone you want your person to have. In this case I am using #ffe0c7. Now that your color is selected use the Pen Tool to trace the face and neck like this.Step 3
Make a new layer for the hair and once more use the color picker to select the most dominant hair color in your picture. If you want to add in highlights you can do that later. For the hair I will be using #401e12. Just like before trace the hair and then fill in the path.Step 4
Once more create another layer so that you can lay down the base color of the clothing. Worry about the dominant colors only. The halter top will be filled in with #3c6844 like so.Step 5
Lower the opacity of the skin layer enough so that you can see the facial features of the original image. Create a new layer for the eyes and change your foreground color to #000000. Begin tracing the outline of the top eyelash. Notice you do not have to be super detailed.Step 6
On the same layer you want to fill in the whites of the eyes. Simply do this by making your foreground color #ffffff and then using the Paint Bucket Tool to fill in your eye outlines.Step 7
Create a new layer for the pupil and iris. Hide the eye layer temporarily and use the Elliptical Marquee Tool to get the iris the right shape.Step 8
We need for things like the eyelids and nose to stand out. To do this we need to simply use the colors of our face to make the shapes, in other words use the same shades on the facial features. Make a new layer and change your foreground color to #fec2a6. Begin tracing the nose.Step 9
Use the same color for the hair to fill in your eyebrows after you have the path traced.Step 10
Make your foreground color #e6756d and create a new layer. Trace only the outline of the top lip.Step 11
To give the face a more defined look we need to add more shadows around the cheeks and jaw like so.Step 12
Continue using #dd8561 to add shadows around the neck and arms as shown below.Step 13
We want the face more defined and less flat so we are going to add in more shadows with the color #f9c19c. Start by adding a shadow beneath the bottom lip.Step 14
To make the shirt look like it has a bit more dimension to it you need to use the color #334f38 and add a large shadow on top of the shirt.Step 15
Outline the edges of the hair where you see that it carries more of a shadow.Step 16
Change your foreground color to #ffad95 to add blush to the cheeks. Outline where the blush is and create a new layer.Step 17
Trace the shape of the eyeshadow and make a new layer.Step 18
Add highlights to the skin by following the areas of your photo where the skin is the lightest.And We’re Done!
Finish your design by adding more shadows, details and a background just like I have done. Once you have your desired details added in you’re finished.Thursday, 9 January 2014